Labour’s Hastings Borough Council Candidates for May 2018

For the first time in several years, there are all out elections for Hastings Borough Council next May.

A series of minor boundary changes for several wards means that all 16 wards will have elections on May 3 2018 for two councillors.

Local Labour Party Secretary, Jonathan Lee, said today ‘Hastings and Rye Labour Party has been choosing local members to fight these elections over the last few weeks, and is delighted to announce that after an all day selection meeting last Saturday, 31 out of the 32 candidates have been selected by ward members.

As some current councillors, who all continue to serve until next May, are retiring, there are several new faces amongst those selected. A diverse group includes far more women candidates, as the Labour Party nationally seeks to contest all elections with a balanced team of men and women.’

Special mention should be made of the long serving councillors Andrew Cartwright, Bruce Dowling, Mike Howard, Emily Westley, Dawn Poole, Michael Wincott and Richard Street who have provided many years of excellent service both in their wards, and for Hastings & St Leonards as a whole.

Some of those not standing again include those whose new careers have left them insufficient time to continue as councillors, So we wish Terri Dowling, Dawn Poole, Emily Westley and Michael Wincott all the best with their future endeavours.

Dawn Poole said ‘ After several enjoyable years, I am standing down in May to focus on finishing my degree and family commitments’

Terri Dowling said ‘I have started a new full time job in the NHS, and although I will miss the role greatly, feel that now is the time to focus on this, my wife, and our plan to start a family.’

Full details of all the Labour Party Candidates are below;

Hastings & Rye Labour Party – Hastings Borough Council Candidates 2018

Ashdown. Lex Coan. & Steve Thorpe
Baird Mike Turner. & Warren Davies
Braybrooke. Sue Beaney. & Dominic Sabetian
Castle. Judy Rogers & Leah Levane
Central St Leonards Ruby Cox & Trevor Webb
Conquest Andy Ives & Nicholas Davies
Gensing. Kim Forward. & Colin Fitzgerald
Hollington. Maya Evans. & Paul Barnett
Maze Hill. Brekke Larsen. & Mike Southon
Old Hastings. Dany Louise. & James Bacon
Ore Heather Bishop & Andrew Battley
Silverhill. Margi O’Callaghan. & Nigel Sinden
St Helens. Antonia Berelson. & Andy Batsford
Tressell. Tania Charman & Peter Chowney
West St Leonards. Anne Rouse & Second Candidate Position Currently Vacant
Wishing Tree. Phil Scott. & Alan Roberts

About The Author

Hastings and Rye Labour