Hastings Borough Councillors

NB: Please send a message using our contact form on this website if you live outside of the Borough of Hastings and you need help or advice.

Below you’ll find an alphabetical list of ward names showing your local councillors.

Unsure of your ward?
You can type in your postcode on the
Write to Them website

Baird ward

Warren Davies

Get in touch: cllr.warren.davies@hastings.gov.uk

Mike Turner

Get in touch: cllr.mike.turner@hastings.gov.uk

Braybrooke Ward

Sue Beaney

I was born, bred and educated in Hastings and am passionate about our town.  I have lived in Knoxville, Tennessee, as well as other towns in the UK and I believe Hastings is unique in its character which has something for everyone.  I feel privileged to be part of a council which is working hard on its vision for regeneration whilst fighting  to overcome dramatic cuts in grants from central government and maintain services for all its residents.

Get in touch: cllr.sue.beaney@hastings.gov.uk

Dominic Sabetian

Get in touch: cllr.dominic.sabetian@hastings.gov.uk

Castle Ward

Leah Levane

Get in touch: cllr.leah.levane@hastings.gov.uk

Judy Rogers

Get in touch: cllr.judy.rogers@hastings.gov.uk

Central St. Leonards Ward

Ruby Cox

I retired at the end of 2012 having worked for the London Borough Tower Hamlets. Within a few month of moving to Hastings, I volunteered at a local advice charity, and I work there two days a week doing the best I can to help people with their difficulties. I volunteer at Hastings Arts Forum, and I am a trustee of the charity Dance Hastings, which was set up to make dance accessible to everyone. I believe that local authoriteies like Hastings are in a terrible position due to the vicious cuts to funding from central government. I became a councillor because I want to stand up to keep publicly funded services in place for all the people who need them.

Get in touch: cllr.ruby.cox@hastings.gov.uk

Trevor Webb

I am proud to live in Central St. Leonards and have represented this ward as councillor since 1997. During that time, I have worked hard to improve the quality of life for residents. Before becoming a councillor, I worked with people with mental health and other disabilities, and equalities issues are a priority for me. I have also been a County councillor for Central St. Leonards and Gensing since 2002, where I am leader of the Labour Group. I am the Spokesperson for Budget and Adult Social Care. I have fought for the regeneration of St. Leonards and am also passionate about ensuring our residents have well-maintained, secure housing.

Get in touch: cllr.trevor.webb@hastings.gov.uk

Gensing Ward

Colin Fitzgerald

Get in touch: cllr.colin.fitzgerald@hastings.gov.uk


Kim Forward

Get in touch: cllr.kim.forward@hastings.gov.uk

Hollington Ward

Paul Barnett

Get in touch: cllr.paul.barnett@hastings.gov.uk

Maya Evans

Get in touch: cllr.maya.evans@hastings.gov.uk

Old Hastings Ward

James Bacon

Being born and bred in Hastings, I am passionate about improving the local community in Old Hastings Ward. I am very much interested in bringing the community together and regularly organise litter picks and Foodbank collections in the Ward. I am always willing to help in anyway I can so please don’t hesitate to contact me about your local concerns.

Get in touch: cllr.james.bacon@hastings.gov.uk

Ore Ward

Andrew Battley

Get in touch: cllr.andrew.battley@hastings.gov.uk

Heather Bishop

Get in touch: cllr.heather.bishop@hastings.gov.uk

Silverhill Ward

Margi O’Callaghan

Get in touch: cllr.margi.ocallaghan@hastings.gov.uk

Nigel Sinden

Get in touch: cllr.nigel.sinden@hastings.gov.uk

St Helens Ward

Andy Batsford

Get in touch: cllr.andy.batsford@hastings.gov.uk

Antonia Berelson

I have lived in the area for 11 years and moved to Hastings a year ago. I worked in St Michael’s Hospice for seven years as a palliative care nurse, which was so rewarding to be able to make a difference to people in their last few weeks of life. I now work for Brighton University looking after the health of the students. As the mental health champion for Hastings Borough Council, I am passionate about parity of esteem for physical and mental health. I also do a lot of work with the Hastings Buddy project, which is supporting the Syrian families arriving in Hastings.

Get in touch: cllr.antonia.berelson@hastings.gov.uk

Tressell Ward

Tania Charman

Get in touch: cllr.tania.charman@hastings.gov.uk

Peter Chowney

I was first elected to Hastings Council in 2010, and have been council leader since 2015.  I am also the Labour parliamentary candidate for Hastings and Rye.  I’m a scientist by training, with a degree in microbiology, and worked in food and pharmaceutical research before moving into local government, working for different councils, government departments and other public bodies, including the Audit Commission.  It’s a privilege to represent Tressell Ward, but it’s one of the most deprived wards in the country, with many social and economic problems.  With huge cuts to government funding to local authorities. it’s difficult for the council to solve these problems – our more deprived communities have been badly neglected by a government that just doesn’t care.

Get in touch: cllr.peter.chowney@hastings.gov.uk

Wishing Tree Ward

Alan Roberts

Get in touch: cllr.alan.roberts@hastings.gov.uk

Phil Scott

Get in touch: cllr.philip.scott@hastings.gov.uk